Independent Record Label | Est. 2009
Wilmington, North Carolina



Saturday, June 8, 2024

Blab School: Blab School

[Repost from Here Comes the Flood; by Hans Werksman, June 6, 2024]

Durham, NC based post-punk quartet Blab School looked up a winning recipe in the playbook for recording an angry album. Their self-titled record brushes shoulders with both garage and goth rock, seasoned with a dressing of nihilism and not giving a fuck in general.

Nevertheless, it is very danceable and it will go down well with the dressed-in-black outsiders with a craving for old school twin guitars and an in-your-face rhythm section. It will clear the room of frat boys and sorority girls who might have wandered in by mistake.

Blab School:
Ryan Seagrist: guitar, keyboards, vocals
Elizabeth Killian: guitar, vocals
Dave Cantwell: drums
Fikri Yucel: bass, backing vocals

Blab School is released via Fort Lowell Records (hand-numbered - 100 copies - yellow translucent vinyl, digital).

  1. Small Simple Ways
  2. Scrolls
  3. Quit Yr Job
  4. Never Enough
  5. Will I Ever?
  6. Rhizome
  7. I Hate the Summer
  8. (Don't Forget To) Give Up
Live dates:
  • 06/06 Pinhook - Durham, NC (record release show)
  • 06/07 Satellite Bar & Lounge - Wilmington, NC (record release show)
  • 07/05 The Cave - Chapel Hill, NC
  • 07/06 Monstercade - Winston-Salem, NC
  • 07/14 Pinhook - Durham, NC
  • 07/27 Reggie's 42nd Street Tavern - Wilmington, NC
  • 08/01 Petra's - Charlotte, NC
  • 08/02 Cobra Cabana - Richmond, VA
  • 08/03 [tbd] - Washington, DC